Celiac Syndrome Logo
Home   |   Meeting Calendar   |   About Celiac Syndrome   |   Texas Support Groups   |   Contact Info
About Celiac
All About Celiac
Dermatitis Herpetiformis
Is it REALLY Gluten Free?
Beware List, May Have Hidden Gluten
Gluten-Free NOT SAFE List
Gluten-Free SAFE List
Are YOU a Wheat-a-holic?



Points of Interest
Local Gluten-Free Resources
Gluten-Free Shopping
Poetry
Celiac Information Links
Celiac Stories
Menu Planning Tips
Dr. Rima's Celiac Blog


Recipes
Breakfast Ideas
Drinks
Salads n Dressings
Soups n Stews
Rice n Sides
Breads n Muffins
Wonderful Veggies
Poultry
Beef n Pork
Lamb n Wild Meats
Fish n Seafood
Desserts
Special Occasions

Gluten-Free NOT SAFE List


If in Doubt, Don’t Eat It!

-A -

Abyssinian Hard
      (Wheat triticum durum)
Alcohol
      (Spirits - some are ok, some not)
Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed
Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Artificial Coloring
      (depends on brand or source)
Artificial Flavoring
      (depends on brand or source)

-B-

Barley Grass
      (can contain seeds)
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Barley Malt
BBQ Sauces
      (often have wheat &/or corn)
Beer
Bleached Flour
Blue Cheese
      (made with bread)
Bran
      (only use rice bran)
Breading on meats
Broth
Brown Flour/Brewer's Yeast/Bread Flour
Brown Rice Syrup
Bulgur
      (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
Bulgur Wheat

-C-

Canned Soups
      (almost never safe)
Carmel Color
      (usually ok if made in USA)
Cereal
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Club Wheat
Cold Cuts
      (read labels!)
Coloring
      (depends on source)
Corn
      (some Celiacs can’t tolerate corn in any form including corn oil,
        corn starch, corn sugar, baking powder, powdered sugar)
Common Wheat
      (Triticum aestivum)
Communion Wafers
Cough Medicine
      (may not have on label)
Couscous
Croutons

-D-

Dextrimaltose
Dextrins
      (Depends on source)
Dinkle
      (Wheat, spelt)
Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2
Durum wheat
      (Triticum durum)

-E-

Edible Starch
      (can be wheat or mixture)
Emmer
      (Triticum dicoccon)
Einkorn
      (Triticum monococcum)

-F-

Farina
Farina Graham
Filler
Flavoring
      (Depends of source)
Flour (Wheat)
Food Starch
      (Wheat or mixture)
French Fries
      (Can be contaminated if fried with breaded items)
Fried Foods
      (Breading)
Fu
      (Dried wheat gluten)

-G-

Germ
Gliadin
      (gluten peptides)
Gluten
      (protein of wheat, barley, rye, and oats)
Graham Flour
Gluten Peptides
Glutenin
Granary Flour
      (can be combined with wheat)
Gravy
      (thickened with flour)
Gravy cubes
Grilled food
      (possible contamination)
Grits
      (sometimes mixed with grains)
Groats
      (crushed barley, wheat)
Ground spices
      (depends on source, sometimes mixed with flour to prevent clumping

-H-

Hard Candy (read labels)
Hard Wheat
Hemp
      (may be ok, not sure)
Hot Dogs
      (usually not ok, has fillers)
Hulls
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein HVP
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein HPP
Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

-I-J-K-

Ice Cream
      (Read labels, often has gluten to thicken)
Imitation Bacon
Imitation Seafood
Jelly Beans
Kamut
      (Pasta wheat)

-L-M-N-

Licorice Candy
      (some brands ok)
Malt
      (Usually made of barley)
Malt Extract
Malt Syrup
Malt Flavoring
Malt Vinegar
Maltodextrin
      (Usually ok if made in USA)
Macha Wheat
      (Triticum aestivum)
Marinades
Matza
Matzo Semolina
Matzah
Medications
      (Check with manufacturer)
Metamucil Tablets
      (Powder is OK)
Mir
Mironovskaya
      (wheat and rye cross)
Miso
Modified Food Starch
Mustard Powder
      (Depends on manufacturer)
Natural Flavoring
      (depends on source)
Natural Flavors
      (no telling WHAT they put in)

-O-

Oat Bran
Oat Fiber
Oat Gum
Oats
      (Lots of argument about it,
      mostly contamination issue)
Oriental Wheat
      (Triticum turanicum)
OTC over-the-counter-medications
      (Check with manufacturer)

-P-Q-

Pasta
Pearl Barley
Persian Wheat
      (Triticum carthlicum)
Polish Wheat
      (Triticum polonicum)
Poulard Wheat
      (Triticum turgidum)
Prolamine
      (Amino acids high in praline from wheat)
Processed meats

-R-

Rice Chex
      (Has malt)
Rice Krispies
      (Has malt)
Rice Malt
      (If barley or Koji are used)
Rice Noodles
      (Imported, especially Chinese)
Rice Paper
      (Imported, may have up to 2% other ingredients not listed)
Roux
Rye

-S-

Salad Dressings
        (Frequently have thickening agents)
Sauces
Seitan (Wheat)
Self-Basting Poultry
Semolina (Wheat)
Semolina Triticum
Shot Wheat
      (Triticum aestivum)
Shoyu
      (Soy sauce often has wheat)
Small Spelt
Soba Noodles
Soup Bases
Soy Sauce
      (Gluten free brand available)
Strong Flour
Suet in Packets
Spirits
      (some ok, some not)
Spelt
      (Triticum spelta)
Spices
      (If they don't tell you what's in it, don't buy it!)
Sprouted Wheat or Barley
Starch
      (Depends on source)
Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Stock cubes
Stuffing

-T-

Tabbouleh
Teriyaki Sauce
      (Usually contains wheat)
Thickeners
Timopheevi Wheat
      (Triticum timopheevii)
Triticale
      (wheat and rye hybrid)
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
Textured Vegetable Protein - TVP
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil

-U-V-

Udon
      (Can be corn or wheat noodles)
Vanilla Extract
      (Get gluten free brand)
Vavilovi Wheat
      (Triticum aestivum)
Vegetable Starch
Vitamins
      (Depends on brand and source)

-W-

“Wheat free” is not necessarily gluten free
Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
Wheat Amino Acids
Wheat Berry
Wheat Bran Extract
Wheat, Bulgur
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat Germ Extract
Wheat Germ Glycerides
Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium
      (Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed
      Wheat Protein)
Wheat Gluten
Wheat Grass
      (can contain seeds)
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Protein
Wheat Starch
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum Monococcum
Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn
      (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild Emmer
      (Triticum dicoccoides)

-X-Y-Z-

Yogurt
      (most flavored ones have gluten)

 
Designed By Design Laurels Login