Beware List, May Have Hidden Gluten
"Wheat-free" does not necessarily mean "gluten-free."
"Gluten-free" label on a food may not actually be "gluten-free" either. Know your source! Now there are new testing laws.
Teeny tiny amounts DO matter! No gluten, not a drop, not ever! When in doubt, DON'T EAT IT.
BAD advice from health food store workers, friends, relatives, and even doctors! DO YOUR OWN HOMEWORK!
Many rice and soy beverages (i.e., Rice Dream) use barley malt or enzymes for flavorings.
Mass-marketed rice and corn-based cereals almost all contain malt flavoring or some other gluten-containing ingredient(s).
Contamination among the flours and grains in open bins in the bulk section of the market. Itís the scoops. Flour in the air in a bakery can contaminate previously gluten-free food.
Contaminated baking ovens, counters and utensils. Wheat-bread crumbs left in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc. Donít just take the croutons off the salad; never put them on. There may be enough crumbs left to set off a reaction.
Grills in restaurants can be contaminated with gluten.
Fried restaurant foods such as French fries can be contaminated with gluten if fried in the same oil with breaded things. Beware of workers passing gluten-containing foods that drip over the "gluten-free" oil cookers.
Lotions, creams and cosmetics, more of a problem for those with dermatitis herpetiformis.
Stamps, envelopes or other gummed labels.
Toothpaste and mouthwash.
Medicines--over-the-counter and prescription medications many contain gluten. Most contain corn starch for binding. Laxatives such as Metamucil are not gluten-free in tablet form but are OK in powder form.
Some brands of rice paper and rice noodles. Imported brands do not have to adhere to the US labeling laws. Japanese and Chinese imports, for example, do not need to list an ingredient if it comprises less than 2% of the total content.
Anything with a sauce or gravy such as canned soups or packaged sauces.
Oriental soy sauce and other sauces usually have wheat in them unless you get gluten-free brands.
Catsup, mustard and salad dressings unless you get gluten-free brands or make your own.
Ice cream, especially cheaper brands, often has a gluten-containing thickening agent.
Mixed or ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.
|Copyright East Texas Gluten Intolerance Group ©|