ETGIG Logo

Gluten-Free SAFE List


- A -

Acacia Gum
Acorn Quercus
Adipic Acid
Acacia Gum
Agar
Alcohol (Distilled spirits are ok)
Alfalfa
Algae
Algin
Alginate
Allicin
Almond
Almond Nut
Almond Meal
Amaranth
Adzuki Bean
Anise
Annatto
Annatto Color
Apple Cider Vinegar
Arabic Gum
Arborio Rice
Aromatic Rice
Arrowroot (Starch)
Artichokes
Aspartame (Not a gluten, but no one should use it!)
Aspic
Ascorbic Acid
Astragalus Gummifer

- B -

Baking Powder (Usually has corn or potato starch)
Balsamic Vinegar
Bamboo Shoots
Basmati Rice
Beans, any
Bean Romano (Chickpea)
Bean Tepary
Beef
Benzoic acid
Besan (Gram, Chickpea Flour)
Betaine
BHA
BHT
Beta Carotene
Bicarbonate of Soda (May have cornstarch)
Biotin
Black and Red Rice
Brewer's Rice
Brown Rice
Brown Rice Flour
Buckwheat
Butter (Dairy; Check additives)
Butylated Hydroxyanisole
Butyl Compounds

- C -

Calcium Carbonate
Calcium Caseinate (Contains MSG)
Calcium Chloride
Calcium Disodium
Calcium Phosphate
Calcium Silicate
Calcium Stearate
Calcium Sulfate
Calrose Rice
Camphor
Canola Oil
Caprylic Acid
Carageenan Chondrus Crispus
Caraway
Carboxymethylcellulose
Carmel Color (Usually ok if made in USA)
Carnauba Wax
Carob Bean
Carob Bean Gum
Carob Flour
Carolina Rice
Carrageenan
Casein (Dairy)
Cassava
Castor Oil
Cellulose (Plant or tree fiber)
Cellulose Gum
Cetyl Alcohol
Channa (Chickpea)
Cheese (Dairy; Check ingredients)
Chestnuts
Chicken
Chickpea (Garbanzo bean)
Chlorella
Chymosin
Citric Acid
Collagen
Corn (some Celiacs can't tolerate corn)
Corn Malt
Corn Meal
Corn Flour
Cornstarch
Corn Syrup
Corn Syrup Solids
Corn Swetener
Cortisone
Cotton Seed Oil
Cowitch
Cowpea
Crawfish
Cream of Tartar
Cysteine, L

- D - E -

Dal (Split peas or beans)
Dasheen Flour (Eddo flour)
Della Rice
Demineralized Whey (Dairy)
Desamidocollagen
Dextrose
Dioctyl Sodium
Distilled Vinegar
Edamame (Soybean)
Eggs
Elastin
Enriched Rice
Ester Gum

- F -

Fava Bean (Legume)
Fish, Fresh or Frozen
Flaked Rice
Flax
Folic Acid-Folacin
Formaldehyde (Nasty stuff!)
French Fries (Watch for cross-contamination with breaded items)
Fructose
Fruit, Dried
Fruit, Fresh
Fumaric Acid

- G -

Garbanzo Bean (Chickpea)
Gelatin
Gin
Glutamate
Glutamic Acid
Glutamine
Glutinous Rice
Glutinous Rice Flour
Glycerides
Glycerol Monooleate
Glycol Monosterate
Glycol
Glycolic Acid
Gram flour (From Chickpeas)
Grits, Corn (Can be contaminated with wheat)
Guar Gum

- H -

Ham (Usually ok without glaze, read label!)
Hemp
Herbs, All Kinds
Hickory Smoke Flavor
Hominey
Hominey Grits
Honey
Hyacinth Bean
Hydrogen Peroxide
Hydrolyzed Soy Protein

- I - J - K -

Inulin
Invert Sugar
Japonica Rice
Jasmine Rice
Job's Tears
Kasha (Roasted buckwheat)
Keratin
Koshihikari Rice
Kudzu Root Starch
Kurkuma (Tumeric)

- L -

Lactic Acid
Lactose
Lamb
Lanolin
Lecithin
Legumes (Bean family)
Lentil
Long Grain Rice
Lipase
Locust Bean Gum

- M -

Magnesium Carbonate
Magnesium Hydroxide
Maize
Maize Waxy
Malic Acid
Maltitol
Maltodextrim (Usually ok if made in the USA)
Manioc
Masa
Masa Flour
Masa Harina
Meat (Fresh; be careful of flavor enhancers)
Methyl Cellulose (Used as gluten substitute in rice breads)
Microcrystallin Cellulose
Milk (Dairy)
Millet
Milo (Sorghum)
Mineral Oil
Mineral Salts
Modified Corn Starch
Modified Tapioca Starch
Monosodium Glutamate(MSG made in USA)
Monopotassium Phosphate
MSG (Made in USA)
Mung Bean
Musk

- N - O -

Niacin-Niacinamide
Nuts (Except wheat, rye & barley)
Nuts, Tree nuts,
Nut, Acron
Nut, Almond
Oats (Still controversial; beware of wheat contamination)
Oils and Fats
Oleyl Alcohol/Oil

- P -

Paraffin
Peas
Pea, Chick
Pea, Cow
Pea Flour
Peanuts (Legume family)
Pearl Rice
Pepsin
Peru Balsam
Petrolatum
Phenylalanine
Pigeon Peas
Polenta
Polished Rice
Polyethylene Glycol
Polyglycerol
Polysorbates
Popcorn
Popcorn Rice (From Louisiana)
Pork
Potassium Citrate
Potassium Iodide
Potassium Sorbate
Potatoes
Potato Flour
Potato Starch Flour
Powdered Sugar (Contains corn starch)
Prinus
Pristane
Propolis
Propylene Glycol
Propylene Glycol Monosterate
Propyl Gallate
Psyllium
Pyridoxine Hydrochloride

- Q - R -

Quinoa (Pronounced "Keen-wah")
Quinoa flour
Rabbit
Ragi
Rape
Red Rice
Rennet
Reticulin
Rice
Rice Bran
Rice Bran Oil
Rice Couscous
Rice Flour
Rice Hulls
Rice Vinegar
Risotto (Rice dish)
Romano Bean (Chickpea)
Rosematta Rice
Rosin
Royal Jelly
Rum

- S -

Saffron
Sago Palm
Sago Flour
Saifun (Bean threads)
Scotch Whisky
Seaweed
Seeds (Except wheat, rye, barley & oats)
Sesame
Shrimp
Sphingolipids
Soba (Be sure it's 100% buckwheat)
Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
Sodium Alginate
Sodium Ascorbate
Sodium Benzoate
Sodium Caseinate (Dairy)
Sodium Citrate
Sodium Erythrobate
Sodium Hexametaphosphate
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
Sodium Nitrate
Sodium Phosphate
Sodium Silacoaluminate
Sodium Stannate
Sorbet (Read label, often gluten free but has corn)
Sorbic Acid
Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symptoms)
Sorghum
Sorghum Flour
Soy
Soybean
Soy Lecithin
Spirits (Distilled Spirits ok)
Splenda (Not gluten, but why eat junk?)
Starch
Stevia
Stearates
Stearamide
Stearamine
Stearic Acid
Subflower Seed
Sunflower
Succotash (Corn and beans)
Sucrose
Sulfosuccinate
Sulfites
Sulfur Dioxide
Sweet Chestnut Flour
Sweet Potato
Sweet Rice Flour

- T -

Tallow
Tapioca
Tapioca Flour
Taro Flour
Tarrow Root
Tartaric Acid
TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone
Tea
Tea-Tree Oil
Teff
Teff Flour
Tepary Bean
Thiamine Hydrochoride
Tofu-Soya Curd
Tolu Balsam
Tragacanth
Tragacanth Gum
Tri-Calcium Phosphate
Turkey
Turmeric (Kurkuma)
Tyrosine

- U - V -

Urad/Urid Beans
Urad/Urid Dal (Peas)
Urad/Urid Flour
Urd (Green gram)
Valencia Rice
Vanilla Extract (Get gluten-free brand)
Vanillin
Vegetables, Any
Vinegars
Vitamin A (Retinol)
Vodka

- W -

Water Chestnut
Waxy Maize
Wehani Rice
Whey
Whiskey
White Vinegar
Wild Rice
Wild Pecan Rice
Wines
Wine Vinegars
Wild Rice

- X - Y - Z -

Xanthan Gum
Yam Flour
Yogurt (Plain, unflavored; most flavored ones have gluten)